What Is Mad Pride?

image001

I’m looking for a working definition of Mad Pride, but I don’t think I will find one, and so I will probably be settling for whatever I can fish up.

Here’s what a television story, ‘Mad’ men and women embrace their mental health issues, from Portland, Oregon says on the subject.

More than eight million Americans with either bi-polar disorder or schizophrenia are fighting the stigma of mental illness by embracing their “madness”, not suppressing it.

Really? I’m not so sure about this one. I will have to inquire deeper.

If you were wondering, I consider myself a part of the Mad Pride movement. The world says you are ‘mentally ill’ though, these days, not mad. My ‘mental illness’ and I had a falling out, and we went our separate ways. You won’t find any ‘mental illness’ on me. Ever.

This idea came from the Mad Pride movement, a new and growing grassroots movement of people with serious mental disorders who are rejecting traditional psychiatric treatments and standing up against the shame associated with mental illness.

Alright. I’m beginning to feel a little nauseous. You have a ‘mental illness’ you say. Oh, you naughty, naughty boy or girl.

Wikipedia further elaborates…

Mad Pride activists seek to reclaim terms such as ‘mad’, ‘nutter’ and ‘psycho’ from misuse, such as in tabloid newspapers. Through a series of mass media campaigns, Mad Pride activists seek to re-educate the general public on such subjects as the causes of mental disorders, the experiences of those using the the mental health system, and the global suicide pandemic.

Wikipedia – Mad Pride

Hopefully we can manage to disown the term “stigma” as well. I don’t want any ‘stigma’ surrounding me. It just doesn’t suit me.

This is what I picked up from the Mindfreedom International website and, uh, maybe they should know.

What is Mad Pride? Mad Pride is a movement that celebrates the human rights and spectacular culture of people considered very different by our society.

MindFreedom International – Mad Pride

This leads, naturally enough, to my next question. How very is very?

The point here is that this description applies to eccentrics and nonconformists, too. That’s right. You can get locked up in a psych ward just for being different.

So what can be said about the Mad Pride movement with certainty? I guess you could say that one thing it is not about is that it is not about being boring. One thing you’re not going to get out of this movement is more of the same old thing. What’s different about that!?

Way to go, Mad Pride! Wake a few more of those people up out there, please.

Leave a Reply

