Choice And Neuroleptic Drugs

Iatrogenic, or physician caused, disease is epidemic in the mental health care field. In my opinion this is one of the most under covered, or covered up, news stories of our time.

Neuroleptic drugs, the most common form of treatment for the label of ‘schizophrenia’, cause Tardive Dyskinesia, a severe movement disorder. Neuroleptic drugs don’t cure ‘schizophrenia’; at best they could be described as a means of managing ‘the symptoms’ of ‘schizophrenia’. Neuroleptic drugs are more pro-Tardive Dyskinesia than they ever were anti-‘psychotic’.

People in treatment for ‘serious mental illness’ develop Tardive Dyskinesia at a rate averaging 5-8% a year. This means a rate of 15-20% of the people on these drugs will develop this crippling neurological condition in 3 years time.

Neuroleptic drugs in animal studies involving Macaque Monkeys have shown brain tissue loss paralleling that damage found in the cadavers and MRI scans of people labeled ‘seriously mentally ill’. This would indicate that any damage observed was the result of the drug rather than any ‘mental illness’.

The newer atypical neuroleptic drugs, developed to have less severe effects than the original phenothiazines, have been found to cause metabolic changes associated with a number of serious health conditions. These metabolic changes are the major reason why people in mental health care are reported to be dying at an age on average 25 years younger than the general population.

Long term neuroleptic drug use shrinks the size of the frontal lobes, associated with higher brain function, and expands the size of the basal ganglia, an area of the brain associated with ‘psychosis’. Long term use of these drugs causes hypersensitivity to dopamine, the neurotransmitter their usage suppresses.

In the short term neuroleptic drug use may help calm the agitation associated with serious emotional disturbance. Used long term the effects of neuroleptic drugs are always detrimental.

It would be wrong for a drug dealer to force a drug on a person. It is equally wrong for prison wardens, psychiatrists, and mental health workers to force neuroleptic drugs on people in their care.

Nobody should ever, under any circumstances, be forced to take neuroleptic drugs against their expressed wishes.

2 Responses

  1. “Nobody should ever, under any circumstances, be forced to take neuroleptic drugs against their expressed wishes.” —– This should be the single major point of this entire subject of coercive psychiatry.

    It’s bad enough that a person is wilfully misunderstood, humiliated and permanently placed under scrutiny. But to then nobble them and mark them is just…

    In 2005 – 2006 it was ordered that I be drugged fortnightly with depot flupenthixol. This is a nasty drug similar to the old haldol and modecate. I lived like a fugitive for about a year, jumping fences, bolting from cops, breaking out of the psych ward… all that stuff, just like on TV. Three times they got me and locked me up in the psych ward. Twice they were able to inject me but I was able to get away and get to a GP for benztropin. I effectively lived on the streets for months.

    I told the shrinks that I would kill myself before I would submit to their drugs. And I straight away said that I would kill one of them before I would ever kill myself. Since I am neither mentally ill or a criminal these two statements are perfectly logical and reasonable. (And they remain true.)

    Criminal charges where then laid against me. Threatening to kill yada yada. I pleaded not guilty to uttering threats but told the magistrate that I was prepared to kill rather than submit to drugging. He told me that if I pleaded guilty I would be released. I maintained a not guilty plea and was given a prison sentence.

    Compared to the previous 12 months prison was heaven. In regular prison prisoners can’t be forcibly drugged. The shrinks were hoping that the magistrate would order detention in a forensic prison where they could continue to drug me. I think the magistrate understood that my “threats” were not threats. They were promises.

    Prison was great. The screws and the cons were mostly all smart and sensible and funny. It was out in the country. Good weather, nice views of hills over the walls. They had a psych nurse for a few of the dopey prisoners who thought they had a mental illness. He wrote me a glowing report. He worked in the prison system because he was disgusted with mainstream psychiatry.

    Too soon it was time to be released. The shrinks were after me again. Again I told them I would kill them. They did the smart thing and let me go. For a time that is.

    Two years ago they got me again, locked me up in a psych ward, then released me on an order to attend a clinic and be drugged. The shrink at the clinic was terrified of me. He released me from the order for no other reason than to save his life. But I continued to see him. He couldn’t refuse because he knew I could say, “They say I have a serious mental illness. They can’t refuse to see me”. But of course he didn’t document any of this. Every few weeks I got a copy of his records. I made appointments to see him as often as possible and for the full hour. If he was late I kept him overtime.

    He was stuck. He knew it and I told him he knew it. He knew that I wasn’t the least bit psychotic and would have to attempt to diagnose me as a psychopath. I went for assessments conducted by forensic psychiatrists. I told them that their questions were loaded with assumptions and could not be answered by a person with no psychopathy or psychopathology. My MMPI (groan) and Rorscach (groan) were remarkable only for their healthy normality. But their position now is that I’m the worst psychopath of all, the clever one.

    So I continued to see the shrink at the clinic (and I just happen to live about 200 metres away). I met and spoke to many other “patients”. Boy, did I get some ammunition from them. So the staff hated me. Every patient I speak to I urge to get their records. See for themselves the garbage that’s been written about them.

    He became increasingly desperate and as I knew he would took out a restraining order. He had to lie of course to do this. And as I knew he would he has screwed himself up. This particular shrink is breathtakingly stupid even for a shink. Just to get a restraining order he’s made claims that if true could get me up to 10 years in prison. I can demand that the public prosecutor lay charges against me or I can ridicule them for not doing so. And this is all coming up soon.

    The point of this post is to emphasize the lengths to which all people should be prepared to go to resist false diagnoses of non existent conditions and forced drugging. But sadly most “patients” are just as dopey as the population from which they are selected.

    The most tragic cases are those where the “patient” is wise to the shrinks mendacity but has to submit to keep things that they quite reasonably can’t bear to part with. This is absolutely reprehensible. This is right up there with the worst kind of extortion.

    I’m fortunate in that although the shrinks have destroyed my material comfort, I’ve got two good grown up kids. The only things I really value, the bastards can’t touch. For one thing, they don’t dare.

    • Perhaps I placed the emphasis in the wrong place. “Nobody should ever, under any circumstances, be forced to take neuroleptic drugs against their expressed wishes.”

      When one is admitted into a psych ward, no attempt is made at understanding. The presumption is usually that the person so locked up is beyond understanding, beyond the pale, and given this assumption, the humanity of the person being detained is dismissed. I’ve heard a psychiatrist claim that people in their care were in fact less than human.

      I’m not very familiar with flupentixol, but here’s what wikipedia says on the subject.

      Flupentixol’s main use is as a long-acting injection given two or three times weekly to individuals with schizophrenia who have poor compliance with medication and suffer frequent relapses of illness. In some countries it can be administered involuntarily under outpatient commitment laws.
      ~Flupentixol

      I have know people who were on prolixin, another injectable, and the results of that treatment, in my estimation, haven’t been so pretty unless by pretty you mean pretty tragic, but then see what wikipedia has to say about prolixin…

      It belongs to the piperazine class of phenothiazines and is extremely potent; more potent than haloperidol and around fifty to seventy times the potency of chlorpromazine.
      ~Fluphenazine

      Near here, Gainesville, we have a forensic psychiatric facility, bad news all the way round. You have to be facing a felony to go there, but heaven help the person who does.

Leave a Reply

