Why Crawl When You Can Fly

When I was in college transactional analysis was very popular. I took psychology, and one of our textbooks, in fact, was a transactional analysis tract. I remember our teacher going over the 4 life positions…

*     I’m Okay. You’re Okay.
*     I’m Okay. You’re not Okay.
*     I’m not Okay. You’re Okay.
*     I’m not Okay. You’re not Okay.

The only one of these life positions that mattered was the life position of maneuverability, and social commerce, or the life position that says “I’m Okay; you’re Okay”.

She said, at one point, that people who are psychotic take the life position of “I’m not Okay”, and people who are psycho &/or sociopathic take the life position of “I’m Okay; you’re not Okay”.

I found, in large respect, as regards people in mental health treatment, this appraisal rather sound. I’ve found usually it’s a case of somebody taking the attitude that there’s something wrong with me, and nobody can convince me there’s something right with me, or maybe, to tone things down a wee bit, I’m different from everybody else. You look in the mirror and see Joe Smith; I look in the mirror and see ET.

A further discovery was the fact that the “I’m not Okay; you’re Okay” life position was the life position of compliance. Compliance is not the best life position in the world to take, just ask any doormat, and if you get a ‘welcome’, dig deeper. It probably won’t be hard to wear out any ‘welcome’ you receive. If such isn’t the case, congratulations, you’ve found a second home.

This leads back to a television show I once saw about the urban legend of the student making a research project out of admitting him or herself into a mental health facility, and then not being allowed to leave. The conclusion the show seemed to draw was that a person would have to be crazy to break into a mental health facility.

I don’t want to go into the reasons why breaking into a mental health facility is crazy. If you are looking for those, I suggest you read up on the subject of torture, and then we can further expand the line of reasoning in our argument. Imprisonment in the name of medical treatment, as far as joke’s go, that’s a good one, isn’t it?

If craziness is breaking into a mental health facility, then ‘sanity’ or health must be breaking out of a mental health facility. Whether you go by the book, or you’re able to surreptitiously slip out the door, getting the idea that you don’t belong there is winning half the battle over this modern marvel of a medical chimera. I just wonder why this is such a hard lesson for some people to learn.

Leave a Reply

