Top 10 Lessons From Psychiatry

I recently read a blog entry, Adventures In PA Rotation: Top 10 Things learned from Psychiatry, in ADVANCE For Physician Assistants. Soon afterwards I lost access to the website and the insights of physician assistant Timothy Loerke detailed therein, too. Nonetheless I thought I would come up with my own Top 10 list on the subject. Needless to say the education I received was very different from that which Mr. Loerke is recieving.

1. Psychiatry can kill you. People in the mental health system are dying at an age on average 15 to 25 years younger than the rest of the population. That’s 15 to 25 years kaput, missed, not there. While generally we refer to the taking of life as murder, in psychiatry this taking of life is called treatment.

2. Iatrogenic, or physician caused, disease is epidemic in the psychiatric field. This wide spread epidemic is the subject of a massive cover up by mainstream media in cahoots with the multi-billion dollar psycho pharmaceutical industrial complex.

3. Psychiatric drugs have harmful properties. Long term use of neuroleptic drugs, the drugs most commonly used in the treatment of psychosis, is known to cause severe cognitive decline.

4. Biological medical model psychiatry is mostly about pushing pills. They even have a word in their specialized professional jargon for this drug pushing, and that word is psychopharmacology.

5. Psychiatrists spend the least time with their patients than anybody else on the ward. They rely for their analyses, when it isn’t a review of a weekly 15 minute session with the patient, mostly on the observations of other staff members.

6. Psychiatrists are not priests. Any confession you make to one is unlikely to get you past the pearly gates. The man-made inferno of the psychiatric institution requires a little more dexterous truth stretching to manipulate skillfully.

7. Psychiatrists make diagnoses. They label people. If you don’t want to have a ‘sickness’, if you don’t want a psychiatric label applied to you, you don’t make a visit to the psychiatrist’s office.

8. A psychiatric intervention can be a difficult experience for a person to recover from. I am continually amazed at the numbers of people who find themselves caught up in the disability for life system…for a lifetime.

9. Psychiatry is not about caring, psychiatry is about pretending to care. Negative self fulfilling prophesies are manifestly abundant in the mental health treatment field. When you prophesize the worst, you are excusing people from taking any preventive measures to counteract such eventualities.

10. If mental illness translates into dependence on the psychiatric mental health system, mental health translates into independence and separation from that same psychiatric mental health system. Given this circumstance, just do the math and you will find, as I have done, that in the case of psychiatry and mental health, less of the one tends to mean more of the other.

3 Responses

  1. One of the lessons that psychiatry taught me is that there are absolutely no future consequences to my actions if I don’t want there to be. Therefore, I don’t have to take any sort of responsibility whatsoever for my behavior.

    I was forcibly committed on an involuntary outpatient basis one time because I had been prescribed Depakote and Risperdal for a psychotic reaction to some street drugs and I refused to take them because they did absolutely nothing for me. I would have been happy to take them. I had liked thorazine and haldol in the past because they got me buzzed, but the Depakote and Risperdal did absolutely nothing. I didn’t feel the least bit of responsibility for them when the shrink claimed they were helpful. I didn’t feel a thing.

    It was so absurd. I would have gladly murdered the guy because he absolutely refused to understand what fuck off meant and what a joke I thought he was. But fortunately for him, there are severe penalties for such behavior and I certainly wasn’t going to sully my hands over a sub-human piece of garbage drug pusher.

    He kept saying I had to responsible for my behavior but as far as I could tell I had nothing to be responsible for. I certainly didn’t feel responsibility for his claims that the drugs were helpful. I told him he needed to be responsible for his claims that they were helpful, but all he could sit there and do was repeat, “No, no, no.”

    He finally dropped the commitment. He said he couldn’t make me take the drugs but still said I needed the drugs that didn’t do anything except make me fatter than I already was, made me sleep 14 hours a day and gave me erectile dysfunction. I guess he thought I was going to stop showing up for appointments, but I didn’t. I kept coming back.

    I found out that I could play the ignorance card just as easily as he could. I could say I didn’t understand, didn’t know and didn’t recall and could he please explain. I simply didn’t have to respond or react negatively. I could be just as pleasant and agreeable as he was and also say that I was concerned. It was funny to watch him squirm and to lose his poker face. It was funny to watch him react because he no longer had any sort of control over my situation and could no longer threaten me with anything.

    I finally got tired of playing around with him and dropped him. But I got what I wanted out of the situation. A psychotherapist, who quickly learned that I wasn’t going to put up with therapy sessions that lasted any longer than three minutes and who had figured out, I guess, that the drugs did absolutely nothing, put me in contact with a Vocational Rehab counselor. I went on to get an associates’ degree and a job. All without forced drugs or coercive psychotherapy.

    Anyway, sorry to prattle on. Let me get back to the original point I was trying to make, the lesson that I learned from psychiatry and mental health–that I don’t have to take responsibility for my behavior, or for my “diseased brain,” for that matter, any more that psychiatry takes for theirs.

    Mental health did try to get me hooked and dependent on SSI benefits. During the interminable appeals process, I was sitting next to my lawyer before we went in to an ALJ review. He had my file out studying it and I looked down on my Axis Report. I was absolutely floored. From what I saw of it, the shrink had written that I “showed no response to medication.” And yet he had claimed his garbage drugs were being “helpful.” It was little wonder that he had refused to take any responsibility whatsoever for his claims.

    More startling still on the report was a diagnosis of a personality disorder that had been made. They had absolutely failed to share that diagnosis with me. Now, the NAMI trash supports forced drugging and refers to a condition they call “anosognosia” that means that the patient doesn’t know he is so sick. I have to ask how could I have known that I was so sick if mental health refused to tell me my diagnosis and not allowed me take responsibility for it?

    Sorry for the rant, but my experience has taught me that mental health and the associated drug peddlers are an absolute joke. I’ve been free of them for 14 years now and have never felt and been better in my life.

    • Way to go, Betasheep! If only more people had your stamina. I’m thinking about all those people who do go onto the disability rolls, and never get off them. This, and all because some psychiatrist said they were ‘sick’, too ‘sick’ to ‘function’ at an ordinary working level.

      My experience with psychiatric drugs was somewhat different than yours. I’ve taken Thorazine and Haldol, too, but what they gave me wouldn’t be described as a buzz. Not in my book anyway. I’ve gotten akathesia everytime I’ve been put on psychiatric drugs. Akathesia elsewhere has been described as being responsible for the “Thorazine shuffle”. Anyone can look that one up anytime they need to do so. Haldol made me go stiff as Boris Karloff playing Frankenstein’s monster after a 1/2 hour or so, sending me begging back to the doctor for some kind of antedote, or anti-pseudo-parkinson’s drug. I’ve taken Zyprexa, too, but the effects would be described as more than nothing by me. I didn’t like the way it was making me add pounds, and I quit soon after being introduced to the drug. Uh, I quit soon after being released from the hospital anyway.

      I was never put on a anticonvulsive like Depakote, but I was put on lithium, and judging from the numbers of people I know who have suffered one or another sort of physical damage due to lithium poisoning, I have no regrets about going cold turkey there.

      Anosognosia, by the way, has absolutely no business in psychiatry. This word is used with validity to describe a phenomenom among stroke victims, who have suffered brain damage, that has been misappropriated by psychiatrists and their apolegists for their own more devious purposes, mainly that of coercing unwilling victims into treatment. Bogus is bogus, and you couldn’t get more bogus than applying anosognosia to mental health treatment.

      I’ve been hospital and drug free for the last 13 years. I have had friends, now cadavers, who were not so fortunate as myself because they listened to the doctor, and took his advice. I have other friends and acquaintances who seem to be on their way to becoming cadavers because they got caught up in the mental health/illness system. I credit my wariness, when it comes to conventional psychiatric treatment, with saving my life.

      Anger is good thing when it is directed against an bad thing. The destruction that is done to people and lives in the name of psychiatric treatment is a very bad thing. When I think of all the people I know of who have been damaged in some fashion by psychiatric treatment, my anger begins to simmer to a boil. My one fear is that I am not doing enough to reverse the damage that is being done to people at this very moment in time.

      • Thank you for your kind remarks. I always considered patience to be my greatest virtue.

        Psychiatry wants to intrude more and more into the armed services. When our servicemen, who don’t suffer fools and their bullshit gladly, get wind of what it does, it could very well be the death knell of psychiatry as we know it. It’s sad that it has to destroy so many lives before it becomes an issue.

Leave a Reply

