Spring Cleaning With The Trash Can Labeled “Antipsychiatry”

15 Responses

  1. Well, you seem pretty lucid to me.. I kept expecting to see Oscar pop out of the trash, although(!) Bravo for making these films; they are empowering to yourself and to others.

    I read up on the DSM definitions and found that although some symptoms were described in specific ways, many were extremely vague and sound as if they have been made up to cover all angles. Say, for instance, that someone is ‘taken’ into hospital whose symptoms are found not to fit. Doctors hate to admit they are wrong, so instead of letting people go, they keep them in and start making up new conditions. It is a terrifying situation to be in because you just cannot win. As you have said, submission ends up being the only way to get out.

    The whole ethic is wrong. The approach of control just does not work. It is brutality masquerading as health care. And to make their ancient methodology sound humane, they twist the old terms to make it sound like they are doing you a favour:

    Solitary confinement/the padded cell = Seclusion – giving you a chance to calm down in a low stimulus environment. Please.

    This is a very touching film I came across by a young girl about forced drugging:

    Support through trauma release is what makes sense to me. From 2:24:

    • I hope you explored the hyperlink on the illustration at the end of the video, http://www.boycottnormal.org. If you didn’t do so, you should go there at some point to find out what it’s all about.

      Those “mental disorders” in the DSM were voted into existence by committee. There is no science whatsoever behind a vote. How can there be any science behind an Oppositional Defiant Disorder, a Conduct Disorder, an Intermittant Explosive Disorder, or an Internet Addiction? If you were to have a “disorder” popularity contest today I feel rather certain Bipolar Disorder, once a rare genetic condition in theory, now a prevalent “mutation”, would win hands down.

      We have ongoing epidemics of a number of mental health disorders launched on the coattails of the DSM revision process:

      1. Attention Deficit Disorder didn’t officially exist until 1980 with its entrance as a “disorder” in the DSM-III. A subsequent revision of the DSM-III came up with Attention Hyperactivity Deficit Disorder. Working backwards in time, disciples of this “disorder” have managed to fabricate a history for ADHD. Actually you’ve got this very very small number of kids that doctors, in their misplaced wisdom, absolutely must hang a label on. Starting with an insignificant statistic, now you’ve got 9 % of school age boys so labeled. As this is the label we give to students with poor study habits, you can expect it to rise.

      2. Autism Spectrum Disorder – the label has been expanded to include high-functioning or Asberger’s Syndrome cases, often questionable to begin with. Recently the autism occurence frequency experienced a jump on top of its already alarming rate of diagnostic labeling. Doctors are talking about the importance of screening more and more kids at a very young age for autism. This screening is not going to make autism rates decline.

      3. The invention of the childhood Bipolar Disorder label sent Bipolar Disorder rates around the world through the roof. Kids once labeled ADHD now had the Bipolar Disorder label attached to them. The revisers of the DSM, busy working on a solution to this boom dilemma, have invented yet a 3rd disorder label for children. This can only mean one thing, more children labeled “mentally ill”.

      4. 11 % of the population of the USA, according to a recent report, are on anti-depressant drugs. Anti-depressant drugs, research results suggest, work no better than a placebo in all but the most serious cases. There is absolutely no way that 11 % of the population in the USA are “clincally depressed”, or so very seriously disturbed. This is the most concrete example of over diagnosis and over drugging that you will find.

      This epidemic in psychiatric labeling is a very alarming trend because many of the more minor “mental disorder” labels actually serve as gateway labels for more serious “mental disorder” labels. Once you’ve labeled a human being “defective”, and started drugging him or her, the skies the limit as to where you may eventually be able take the labeling process.

      Those are some terrific videos, G M. Thanks. Both of them I think worth a viewing.

      “Medication” through the mouth or through a needle in the bum is not much of a choice, is it?

      Bipolar disorder is to real disease what Bugs Bunny is to real rabbits. (My view.)

      Bipolar disorder as a healing process rather than a “disease””? Well, apparently seeing it as such works well for some people.

      I think the “spiritual emergency” view of emotional breakdowns definitely an improvement over the “quick fix” of “drug maintenence”.

      Both of these videos have my thumbs up.

  2. I liked your short version better!

    Where was the link? I have looked at the link you gave; that is the organisation you are a member of.

    Tell me what you think of this from the site:

    http://www.mindfreedom.org/kb/mental-health-abuse/psychiatric-labels/megbraintest

    I am interested in this, but even more interested in related curative methods. If you remember, that is where I came in. We had a rather spirited debate about diagnostics and curative procedures not involving medication.

    Look at this:

    http://ego.thechicagoschool.edu/s/843/index.aspx?sid=843&gid=25&pgid=1688

    I came across it when researching symptoms. I think they have covered just about everything, don’t you?!

    The trouble is that some of these behaviours are sensible reactions to bad situations. That does not means that someone is ill. And a child replicating a bad example learned at home is not ill either. I have a real issue with the drugging of children. In any scenario where a child is distressed, their safety and nurturing should be concentrated upon. The danger of passing bad parents the means to shut their children up and abuse them further is a painful reality. It is nothing new; doctors have been handing out drugs to parents for this purpose for a long time. It is time for this to stop, not for it to increase to the point where every child is at risk. Look at the experiment results. Just the fact that they are experimenting on children in this way is wrong. Children need love and structure, not drugs.

    1. Active children are not necessarily sick children, nor are children who are disinterested in lessons. There is evidence to suggest that too much television – with its flashing images – affects a child’s ability to concentrate. Too much sugar will make your children bounce off the walls as well. Looking at environmental factors is the first thing that has to be done.

    This from http://www.webmd.com/add-adhd/guide/adhd-symptoms

    “Symptoms of ADHD

    There are three different categories of ADHD symptoms: inattention, hyperactivity, impulsivity.

    Inattention may not become apparent until a child enters the challenging environment of school. In adults, symptoms of inattention may manifest in work or in social situations.

    A person with ADHD may have some or all of the following symptoms:

    difficulty paying attention to details and tendency to make careless mistakes in school or other activities; producing work that is often messy and careless
    easily distracted by irrelevant stimuli and frequently interrupting ongoing tasks to attend to trivial noises or events that are usually ignored by others
    inability to sustain attention on tasks or activities
    difficulty finishing schoolwork or paperwork or performing tasks that require concentration
    frequent shifts from one uncompleted activity to another
    procrastination
    disorganized work habits
    forgetfulness in daily activities (for example, missing appointments, forgetting to bring lunch)
    failure to complete tasks such as homework or chores
    frequent shifts in conversation, not listening to others, not keeping one’s mind on conversations, and not following details or rules of activities in social situations
    Hyperactivity symptoms may be apparent in very young preschoolers and are nearly always present before the age of seven. Symptoms include:

    fidgeting, squirming when seated
    getting up frequently to walk or run around
    running or climbing excessively when it’s inappropriate (in teens this may appear as restlessness)
    having difficulty playing quietly or engaging in quiet leisure activities
    being always on the go
    often talking excessively
    Hyperactivity may vary with age and developmental stage.”

    A lot of these ‘symptoms’ can be attributed to a child finding school boring and being more interested in the world around them. A lot more attention needs to be paid to the cause of certain behaviours. Masking behavioural traits with drugs in order to produce compliant children is wrong.

    2. Autism exists, but the addition of the “autistic spectrum” is worrying.

    This from http://www.webmd.com/brain/autism/autism-spectrum-disorders

    “Autism seems to be on the rise, and autism spectrum disorders affect between two and six children out of every 1,000 in the U.S. It’s unclear, though, whether the growing incidence of autism represents a real increase or just improved detection.”

    Neither, I would say. I suspect that the ever widening net of symptoms and the desire for “improved detection” rates are the reasons.

    People with Asperger syndrome are right to qualify it as a difference rather than a condition requiring treatment. It comes down to whether it is distressing to the individual.

    3. I do not advocate drugging children. If a child is distressed, it is more likely than not an environmental problem. Growing children go through all kinds of phases before they settle down. We cannot entertain drugging the developmental process out of them.

    4. Your reasoning is sound.

    I am all over this:

    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC474733/

    People do not get enough exercise. Children should be out running around, not sat in front of computers in the dark all of the time.

    From http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/10547175

    “CONCLUSIONS:
    An exercise training program may be considered an alternative to antidepressants for treatment of depression in older persons. Although antidepressants may facilitate a more rapid initial therapeutic response than exercise, after 16 weeks of treatment exercise was equally effective in reducing depression among patients with MDD.”

    “Equally effective.” Get the old folks moving!

    Absolutely true about the labels.

    This is a comment from http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PoJY-8bdpEs&feature=related

    “To be honest I don’t mind being BP to much, the manic side kind’a counters the dark side….It’s the endless medication, care and “oh god he’s crazy” that’s the worst part. I’v had ALL my money taken off me “for my own good”, and the LABEL is one of the worst things having to tell people or when filling in forms is the single worst thing, it makes me feel branded”

    (qwersdxqwersdx 3 days ago)

    “Branded” is a word I have used before and I find it apt. People end up feeling as if they have their labels branded on their foreheads.

    No, it is not much of a choice when it comes to forced drugging. “Take your medication or we will pin you down, pull down your pants, and stick a needle in you.” It is legally sanctioned violence with a bit of sexual assault thrown in for extra degradation.

    And so to bipolar disorder..

    My view: Take away the name of it for the time being and I will say that a condition exists, but not in the numbers we are seeing. Hormones and blood sugar are among the many things that affect mood. Taking the time to prepare and eat a diet that levels out blood sugar makes a big difference. People get addicted to the anxiety that comes with low blood sugar and the quick fix sugar high from starchy carbohydrates. With all the information around now it is easy for people to convince themselves they are ill when they are not. Regular exercise and a good eating plan would do more for a lot of these people than medication will.

    Whenever I hear bipolar disorder mentioned, it makes me think of someone who has completed expeditions in the Arctic and Antarctic circles and now feels a bit unwell. Manic depression seems a more appropriate title if you are going to have one. This illness is crippling, so I recognise it as an illness. Again, healthy eating and exercise are important. Helping someone through a so-called psychotic episode in a gentle manner is important.

    Yes, it is probably the most popular of disorders at present. If everyone gets it then maybe attitudes will change. It is a bit like credit. Nobody wants to lend to someone with bad credit, but when everyone has bad credit, the lenders have to lend to them because they would be out of business otherwise. Maybe people will become more tolerant when everyone supposedly has bipolar disorder.

    In terms of the real deal, psychotic episodes do come about as a result of trauma so the healing process theory has value. I do not think that psychotic episodes in and of themselves indicate manic depression. A psychotic episode or, preferably, a period of trauma release, is not indicative of serious illness of a chronic nature. It is an acute reaction and if dealt with properly at the time, a person can come through it and get better.

    “Nervous breakdown” is a good way to describe what happens because of what happens to the central nervous system. There is stigma attached to the term, however. A spiritual emergency is something entirely different. I think the world is having a spiritual emergency.

    My thoughts on labeling are more concerned with the way these things are perceived. Without the current labeling, we will end up with different labels because everybody wants to have a name for something. For people with serious problems, it is a relief to find out their symptoms are definable and that they are not alone. We have to think about that; and we have to think about people who cannot speak for themselves.

    Changing labels or getting rid of them is not going to change attitudes overnight, and it is attitudes that need to change. Nevertheless, reducing labels, modifying them, and changing them is part of the process.

    There is a strong need to make sure that people are not known by their illnesses. If someone has had cancer, we do not call them a “canceric”, so why do we call someone who has had an episode of schizophrenia a schizophrenic? It is this attitude that you are what you have had and that you are now marked for life that is the problem.

    I am glad that you appreciated the films.

    Disclaimer(!):

    All comments made here are made in the spirit of discussion and debate rather than in conflict.

    • It’s certainly not the end of all videos, and it won’t be the last video I produce either. I like the extended version. The difference is one of order. First, I should take care of my labels, and then I can take care of the APA and the DSM in toto, almost 400 labels. The problem with the longer version was that I had made one video, and then I accidently deleted it from my camera. Upset with myself, I immediately made a second, but it may have been a little rushed, and I was probably less relaxed than I might have been otherwise.

      Well, our organization had a little credit card snafu, and we lost ownership of its website name. I can’t say whether this change will be permanent or not at this point in time. Just click this hyperlink, and you should get there: MindFreedom Florida Network”.

      Your webpage didn’t grab me as I’m really not into diagnosing (detecting) disorders, I’m more into undiagnosing (undetecting) disorders (i.e. recovery). They’ve got machines for people who want pet disorders. I don’t think a lot of these disorders are real. I think they are just labels that are applied more or less arbitrarily to people. The way I deal with these disorder labels is by ripping them up, and feeding them to the trash can labeled “antipsychiatry”. I thought you might have figured that out.

      When I was a kid, there was no ADHD, fact. ADHD only came into existence in the 1980s. I’m very glad that it didn’t exist when I was a kid. My parents, hoping to improve my grades at school, were going to get me evaluated by psychiatrists’ once. I got so spooked by my visit to this place where the cold and clinical professionals asked me personal questions from the other side of a plate of glass that I told my parents I was not going back, and I didn’t go back. Were I the same kid today, I have absolutely no doubt but that I would be given an ADHD diagnostic label, and that I would be given a prescription of speed on top of that label. I’m not the same kid. I’m an adult, and I didn’t reach adulthood through diagnosis.

      I don’t pretend to have all the answers with regard to the label of autism. I do know that some of the people labeled autistic today would not have been so labeled in the past. I also know that some of the people labeled autistic today probably don’t really need that label applied to them. I am quite sure that part of the present epidemic in people diagnosed as autistic has something to do with this expanded criteria for diagnosis. Just how much, well, that is a matter maybe further research can unravel.

      Depression is overdiagnosed, duh. Bipolar disorder is not a textbook description. The “disease” is a “disorder” in the DSM primarily because these doctors don’t know WTF they’re dealing with anyway. Call it “brain disease” if you want to do so, that doesn’t make it “brain disease”. If the professionals (priests) don’t know what they’re dealing with, maybe the amateurs (laity) have a better idea. You’ve heard the expression “beginner’s luck”. When it comes to healing or curing people, psychiatry tends to rank, if not a big fat zero, then a minus. In my educated opinion, and as far as I myself am concerned, the trash can labeled “antipsychiatry” works so much better.

      Everybody wants a name for something, even when that something is nothing. Sounds downright Shakespearean, doesn’t it? Sounds like, for example, Much Ado About Nothing.

  3. Ah, no. I meant your post. Just a joke, anyway. I saw it before you added all the new information that meant I had to do more work! I have not seen all your films yet so I would not have known the long version from the short version. I like this one just fine – the extended version, I conclude.

    But you are associated with Mind Freedom International, right? I looked up the dot com and the dot net and they appear to be available if you are interested.

    Hmm. Basically what I am interested in with this kind of research is separating real illness from fabricated illness, then curing the real illness. That way we de-bunk psychiatry and people get well. The identification of illness through this method is only part of the story. When I came across your blog initially, I had been speaking with a professor at the cutting edge of curing people using similar means not long before.

    “The way I deal with these disorder labels is by ripping them up, and feeding them to the trash can labeled “antipsychiatry”. I thought you might have figured that out.”

    Thank you for reminding me; it had almost slipped my mind.

    I respect where you are coming from with all of this but I maintain a voice for the people in the wilderness.

    Scary stuff. I think parental coaching to encourage parents to love and accept their children as they are is perhaps a good addition to the overall idea. Not everyone is going to get straight As or be captain of the football team. Without little rebels running around thumbing their noses at authority, the world would be a very dull place.

    I agree. Like I said, the screening process is flawed because you have people there with this test to run on children and what do they want at the end of a working day? “Oh, no, we didn’t find any today,” or “Hey, honey! We found six today!” Ridiculous.

    Well, like you say, doctors do not really know what they are dealing with. This is due to the fact that they think they can learn about it in a book. They never will. The way they are going to learn is by listening and by not looking for a quick fix. Sometimes people just need to be heard. I am an advocate of counselling over medication because a person may be overwhelmed by their problems and responsibilities. Just talking these things through with a sympathetic human being who has dedicated an amount of time to you alone can work wonders. Most people can work their own difficulties through whilst in these sessions.

    Community breakdown is partly to blame because people do not have support systems, so I think that group help is a good thing for the same reasons. The answers are generally inside of us and sometimes we just need to air and share our thoughts. Getting them out of our heads where they are driving us nuts is a good start.

    Detecting the real deal requires more than a five minute chat with your GP.

    “Disease” simply means something is not working as it should but it does not sound good. I do not like the word “disorder” either. I think “condition” is going to have to do for now, in its definition as “a state of being”. People-who-suffer-from-the-condition-formerly-known-as-manic-depression is such a mouthful, though. Maybe I will use a symbol for now.\-/

    I have said that psychiatrists are busy attaching themselves to other disciplines. We have neuro-psychiatrists and bio-psychiatrists now. This is because the field of psychiatry is being edged out by more specific science. I do not think that is a bad thing.

    In my educated opinion, we need cures as well as the trash can.

    • You didn’t mean ‘post’, you meant ‘comment’. I expanded the comment because it speaks directly to what is wrong with the DSM, the shrink’s label bible, itself. Duke psychiatry professor emeritus Allen Frances found 3 false epidemics spawned by the label bible. I’ve added a 4th to his list. There is something fundamentally wrong with claiming to be looking for the cure to diseases that you are manufacturing epidemics of out of thin air.

      Yes, I am affiliated with MindFreedom International, and I am working with people locally, and across the state, to organize a Florida affiliate of MindFreedom.

      There should be a class taught in adolescent rebellion because if there were such a class, I bet your little rebels would excell in it.

      Community is something folks build together. These breakdowns in community arise so often because commercial interests are put above human interests. When you’ve got a few people, working with major corporations, whose primary concern is making a profit, community takes on a different meaning. The deception is that we’ve got a community where a monied elite makes all the decisions.

      You’ve got it wrong about why psychiatry is attaching itself to other disciplines. There is a very simple reason for why this is occuring. This discipline, in particular, has experienced much criticism in the past over its dubious nature. Psychiatry must bolster its status and position as a science and a branch of medicine. These guys can’t come right out and tell you, well, we don’t know shit. This is science on crutches. We can’t find the virus or bacteria, Okay. We will look for neurons and chromesomes. Maybe it’s there. Problem: we haven’t got any “disease”. We have got a hell of a lot of people seriously affected by the pollutants we call “medicines”.

      I’ve said it before and I will say it again, the cure to a bad situation is a good situation.

      • I read this after I “posted” my “comment” below..

        Yes, I think I have covered most of what you say and I am in agreement.

        I remember when adolescent rebellion was just that, not a frigging medical condition.

        “You’ve got it wrong about why psychiatry is attaching itself to other disciplines. There is a very simple reason for why this is occuring. This discipline, in particular, has experienced much criticism in the past over its dubious nature. Psychiatry must bolster its status and position as a science and a branch of medicine. These guys can’t come right out and tell you, well, we don’t know shit. This is science on crutches. We can’t find the virus or bacteria, Okay. We will look for neurons and chromesomes. Maybe it’s there. Problem: we haven’t got any “disease”. We have got a hell of a lot of people seriously affected by the pollutants we call “medicines”.”

        That’s what I have been saying; that they are trying to bolster their position. That goes to show that they are worried about their relevance because they know their profession is a house of cards.

      • Adolescent rebellion is not a medical condition, not a real medical condition anyway. Calling it such does not make it such. Perhaps you’re merely being ironic. Okay. I’m not being ironic in this instance.

  4. “Everybody wants a name for something, even when that something is nothing. Sounds downright Shakespearean, doesn’t it? Sounds like, for example, Much Ado About Nothing.”

    Yes, indeed.

    A friend has just picked up a book entitled “The Psychopath Test” by Jon Ronson for me. I shall let you know if it is worth the bother.

    • I’ve read the reviews, it’s not worth the bother as far as I’m concerned. Jon Ronson would have a very different perspective had he been involuntarily entered into the psychiatric system than the one he has developed. Pathology is one thing, psychopathology another, and forensic psychopathology…Get outta here!

      Were I to draw a line of the sand, it’s like this, on one side of this line is criminal behavior, on the other side of the line is non-criminal behavior. “Diseases”, as a rule, do not commit crimes.

      • This isn’t irony:

        “I remember when adolescent rebellion was just that, not a frigging medical condition.”

        I mean, quite literally, that I remember a time when adolescent rebellion was considered to be adolescent rebellion. Nobody thought that rebellious behaviour constituted a medical condition because everybody had more sense than to think that.

      • Very good point, G M. Common sense, at least where mental health treatment is concerned, is a lot less common than it used to be.

        We are arguing with a monolithic power structure that cannot stomach criticism. This kind of authoritarian bullying will tolerate no dialogue. Free-thinking is a threat. Disputing the bio-psychiatric line is now accounted heresy. Return to common sense, and theories are again theories, opinion opinion.

  5. It was sensible enough for the most part and it gave me more insight into the DSM situation and your position. That was the most useful part to me; chapter eleven, I believe. If you get hold of a copy, I recommend chapter eleven to you. As far as the Hare Psychopathy Checklist goes, Ronson shows that it is unreliable. He pokes fun at the system and debunks the labeling throughout, so you might find that you enjoy the book more than you expect.

    Reduced amygdala activity renders people unable to feel emotion. Reducing the signals between pleasure and pain centres has the same effect. It is my theory that people who are incapable of feeling emotion are drawn to heightened emotion. They are also detached from the emotions that stop us from crossing lines in the sand. Therefore I think that in terms of psychopathy there is a sound argument that the condition contributes to the criminal activity. It is still criminal activity and is treated as such; the issue is whether there is justification for moving someone who has been deemed to be psychopathic into a medical facility instead of or following completion of their prison sentence.

    Regarding the DSM, there is a good article in the New Yorker from 2005 to be found at

    http://www.newyorker.com/archive/2005/01/03/050103fa_fact?currentPage=all

    These are a couple of excerpts:

    “No one really scrutinized the science very carefully.” This was owing, in part, to the manual’s imposing physical appearance. “One of the objections was that it appeared to be more authoritative than it was. The way it was laid out made it seem like a textbook, as if it was a depository of all known facts,” David Shaffer says. “The average reader would feel that it carried great authority and weight, which was not necessarily merited.”

    “Reliability is probably lowest in the place where the most diagnoses are made: the therapist’s office. As Tom Widiger, who served as head of research for the DSM-IV, points out, “There are lots of studies which show that clinicians diagnose most of their patients with one particular disorder and really don’t systematically assess for other disorders. They have a bias in reference to the disorder that they are especially interested in treating and believe that most of their patients have.” Unfortunately, because psychiatry and its sister disciplines stand under the authoritative banner of science, consumers are often reluctant to challenge the labels they are given. Diagnoses are frequently liberating, helping a person to understand that what he views as a personal failing is actually a medical problem, but they can in certain cases become self-fulfilling prophecies. A child inappropriately given the label of attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder can come to see himself as broken or limited, and act accordingly. And there are other problems with the DSM. Critics complain that it often characterizes everyday behaviors as abnormal, and that it continues to lack validity, whether or not the issue of reliability has been definitely resolved.”

    This is what I know: There are a number of conditions that do exist.

    I know you want to render all diagnoses void, but that is not the answer. There are people who get sick and they deserve to be helped.

    What you have here with the DSM however, is a complete free for all with psychiatrists, drug companies, and insurance companies in the scrum. Patients are secondary to the money machine this situation has become.

    The problem in the US, with health care being private, is that everyone involved is trying to make money off the back of the book. Patients are captured pawns in the game, held in the clutches of the system until every last penny has been wrung out of them. It is a disaster that you rightly condemn.

    • Your recommendation for reading the book, and especially chapter 11 (sounds like bankrupcy in this country), I’m taking under advisement. The process of prosecuting people often involves much demonization of the people being prosecuted.

      I’m not going to be calling anybody’s brain, criminal or mental patient, abnormal. I’m not after the standard in brain technology. I figure God the designer was absolutely off his gourd, or do I really mean Mother Nature in this case? I figure Mr. and Mrs. Jones brains are much closer to Frankenstein’s monster’s brain than either one of them would wish to admit.

      I have rendered all the diagnoses I’ve received null and void. I don’t even have to rubber stamp them. The mh system has no hold on me. Until you are the pronouncements of the psychiatric state, that’s where they are going to stay.

      The biggest criticism of the DSM are the industries own statistics. You don’t fight these things by labeling them and making a business out of profiteering off them. They aren’t fighting them so much as they’re contributing to them. We’ve got a growing problem because it is in psychiatry’s interest to have a growing problem.

      Absolutely correct. If you want to know what’s really going on here, the paper trail you want to follow is the money trail. The money trail will tell you what’s going on here in much greater detail.

  6. Let me know what you think. The whole story line about the book I found a bit of a distraction, but I thought the general message was sound enough.

    “I figure Mr. and Mrs. Jones brains are much closer to Frankenstein’s monster’s brain than either one of them would wish to admit.”

    That’s where the fascination and the fear come from. The fascination with someone who steps over the line and the fear of the capacity to do so in all of us. Calling people crazy and turning them into demons when they do so is the way people separate themselves from the darkness inside themselves.

    Amygdala activity has an effect on the ability to feel emotion, but it is indeterminable at this time how many actions of men committed to institutions rather than prisons were influenced in this way. We have to come back to the issue of personal responsibility again at some point. If a person has a condition, it can be argued that they are responsible for getting help in understanding it and living a good life regardless.

    Good for you. I know it was a struggle.

    The reading I have done over the last couple of days has been really useful and I have become more disgusted the more I learn about the DSM and how slavish devotion to it has caused injury to so many. You can just see how everything came about and what a lack of concern there has been for patients along the way.

Leave a Reply

